Award-winning Writer of Poetry and Fiction

WriteOnCon 2013

Just posted my query, first 250, and first 5 pages to the forums at WriteOnCon. This is an amazing online conference with lots of chances to read the work of other writers.

I’ve changed the title of my YA Sci-Fi Romance and have also added a new first chapter.

New Title is…

If I Promise You the Sun

New query:

Mana Aquino and Eve Thomas have no business speaking to one another. In the technology-free territory of New Eden, non-natives like Mana work the fields while citizens like Eve enjoy higher pursuits. Contact between them is punishable by death.

But for Eve, who’s been plagued by a freakish photographic memory and strange tics since childhood, paradise becomes a pretty version of hell when her little brother contracts a disease New Eden’s leaders won’t treat. To save his life, she’ll have to find someone who can help her break the law—and that means overcoming her insecurities fast.

Having come to New Eden ten years ago, Mana lives to destroy the bishop who murdered his sister and treats all non-natives like slaves. But he can’t seem to get close to his prey. When he stumbles on the secret of Eve’s memory, he makes her a bold offer: he’ll bring illegal medicine to her brother if she’ll serve as his human camera, gathering information that could topple the bishop.

Though Eve knows better than to trust an angry outsider, she finds herself drawn to the fiery boy with the dark sun eyes. She’s determined to show him that she’s no pampered child he can use and throw away. If she accepts his offer, she’ll jeopardize her entire family and help commit a crime that could spark war. If she says no, her brother is as good as dead.

Told by both Eve and Mana, If I Promise You the Sun is YA futuristic sci-fi with cross-cultural romance at its heart. A stand-alone novel with series potential, it will appeal to fans of Under the Never Sky and Article 5, and is complete at 115,000 words.

I hold an M.A. in creative writing from Syracuse University and have published several children’s book reviews in The New York Times. My first book of poems won the 2007 Main Street Rag Poetry Book Award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s